Board of Directors

Board Meetings

The PUD board meets the first Tuesday of each month at 6 p.m. at the utility office, 2345 River Road. The public is always welcome, and customers are urged to comment and get involved in decision-making that affects them and the utility.  Special meetings also are occasionally held; each meeting is announced in advance.

We value all input, comments and suggestions from our customers.  Please give us a call at 541-296-2226 or fill out our contact request form

Board Agendas and Minutes

Board agendas are made public in advance of each meeting, and minutes are posted as soon as possible after approval by the Board of Directors.  Older agendas and meeting documents are archived and available to the public upon request by calling 541-296-2226.

Meet Your Directors

Northern Wasco County PUD’s Board of Directors is elected by you, the customer-owners of the utility. Each board director serves a four-year term and represents a specific geographic area.

Roger Howe, Treasurer

Roger has been an elected Representative of Subdivision 1 since January 2017.  He is a lifelong resident of The Dalles and is a 1966 graduate from The Dalles High School.  He received his Bachelor of Science degree from Eastern Oregon University in 1972.  Roger is a Vietnam veteran having served with the 101st Airborne Division.  He worked as a partner and general insurance agent with Kargl, Elwood and Geiger, Inc. for forty-two years.

Roger has been an active member of the Wasco County Search and Rescue for twelve years and was an Emergency Medical Technician.

He has recently completed technical training to earn the designation of Credentialed Cooperative Director (CCD).  This certificate is a set of five courses that focus on basic governance knowledge and the essential skills required of  Directors.

Roger is also active in energy-related professional groups, having served as the 2019 President of The Oregon People’s Utility Districts Association (OPUDA) and is currently President of Northern Wasco County PUD Board of Directors for the 2020 term.

Subdivision #1, Term Expires 12/31/2022

Greg Johnson, Director

Please welcome our newest member on the PUD board to serve Subdivision #2, Greg Johnson.

While Greg’s family history in The Dalles extends over 150 years, Greg was born in Portland and grew up in the Seattle area before attending Washington State University and graduating with a degree in General Agriculture in 1985. After working summers on his Grandparent’s farm all through junior high, high school, and college, Greg moved to The Dalles and started farming.  In 1989, Greg married his wife, Kim, and they started buying the farm. Greg farmed until 2015, when he leased the orchards and went back to school. In 2019, he earned his master’s degree in Elementary Education and now teaches middle school science at St. Mary’s Academy.

Greg was very active in the Wasco County Farm Bureau and the Oregon Farm Bureau, and has served on the American Farm Bureau Young Farmer and Rancher Committee, the Oregon Sweet Cherry Commission and served for many years on the Board of Directors at Oregon Cherry Growers, Inc.

Greg has been a volunteer for many years on the American Youth Soccer Organization (AYSO) Board of Directors.  He has also coached soccer for many years for AYSO, Oregon Youth Soccer Association, and as the girls’ varsity coach at The Dalles High School.  In his spare time, Greg enjoys rock hounding at the beach, showing dairy goats, and tinkering in his shop.

Subdivision #2, Term Expires 12/31/2024

Wayne Jacobson, President

Wayne Jacobson moved to Oregon from Wisconsin in 1976. He worked for a Portland-based company in the Portland area and around the state for almost seven years.  After moving to The Dalles in 1983, he spent the next 22 years in private practice, not only testing hearing and fitting hearing aids but trained to manufacture his own brand and do same-day in-office repairs.  After selling his practice in 2005, he traveled around the U.S. for eight years as a Practice Development Consultant for the largest hearing aid manufacturer in the world.

In the 1970’s, he began presenting continuing education seminars for the hearing aid industry speaking all over the United States and abroad.  In 2012, he published a book for hearing aid professionals that has been through two printings.

Since being in The Dalles, Wayne has been active in the Lions Club and Toastmasters.  He was also Chairman of the task force when Wasco County was granted $5,000,000 from the federal government to build the Discovery Center and was instrumental in getting it placed in The Dalles.

Wayne is past President of the Oregon Hearing Society and was a Board Member there for 18 years.  He was also elected to the National Board for Certification in Hearing Instrument Sciences for over 12 years, serving two terms as its Chairman.

Now in retirement, Wayne feels he has the interest, time and experience to serve the Northern Wasco County PUD customers in District 3.

Subdivision #3, Term Expires 12/31/2024

Howard Gonser, Vice-President

Howard was initially elected to the Northern Wasco County PUD Board in 1987. Prior to retirement as an educator, Howard worked at School District No. 12 in The Dalles as a teacher and coach; at School District No. 9 in The Dalles as a drug counselor, teacher and coach; taught part time at the local Columbia Gorge Community College; and served as a consultant to many of the area’s school districts.

Since being elected to the PUD Board of Directors, Howard has been very active in energy-related professional groups, serving twice as the Oregon People’s Utility Districts Association (OPUDA) President.

Subdivision #4, Term Expires 12/31/2022

Connie Karp, Secretary

Connie was appointed to the Northern Wasco County PUD Board of Directors in December 2016, to fill the unexpired term of Director Kenneth Leibham.  Connie has lived in The Dalles since 1983.  Before retiring, Connie worked 17 years for Columbia River Bank.  Connie has volunteered in many different areas of the community over the years.

She currently volunteers with the Money Management Program (AAA) and is a member of P.E.O., a philanthropic organization that promotes education among women.

Subdivision #5, Term Expires 12/31/2022